Friday, April 30, 2010

India placed in the Second Division of the World Team Championships

The Indian team consisting of A Sharath Kamal, Soumyadeep Roy, Subhajit Saha, A Amalraj, and Sourav Chakraborty, has been placed in the second division of the World Team Table Tennis Championships to be held at Moscow, Russia from 23-30 May.

Among the ladies, India will be represented by Mouma Das, Poulomi Ghatak, K Shamini, Madhurika Patkar, and Divya Deshpande.

China, Korea Republic, and Germany top the seedings list in the men's section while China, Singapore, and Korea Republic head the women's list.

Meanwhile, China has two new faces in its squad - Zhang Jike and Xu Xin, who have done exceptionally well in the last couple of years and also proved their merit by qualifying from the very tough selection process. Interestingly, Ma Lin does not find a place in the squad.

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Indian Railways win World Title

The Indian Railways team bagged two golds in the Men's Singles and Men's Team events at Nijniy Nogorod (Russia).

Arpit Bhopalkar won the prestigious Singles title beating Albert Kolodskikh in the finals. The Men's team comprised of Anirban Nandi, Arpit Bhopalkar and Sayan Paul Roy.

The Women's team won the Bronze Medal. The team consisted of Prajakta Tipale,Pallabi Kundu and Mansi Bhagwat.

The other medal winners were Prajakta Tipale & Pallabi Kundu won Silver Medal in Women Doubles. Prajakta Tipale won Bronze Medal in Women Singles. Anirban Nandi and Arpit Bhopalkar won Bronze Medal in Men Doubles. Anirban Nandi and Prajakta Tipale won Bronze Medal in Mixed Doubles. Mansi Bhagwat won Bronze Medal in Women Doubles with her Russian partner Shevlyakova V.

In all, Indian Railways won two Gold, one Silver and five Bronze medals.